Tags

, , , , ,


I have been trying for some time to make gluten free biscuits that taste good, hold together and without binding agents such as xanthan gum. I have made good ones, okay ones, and horrible ones. I have tried recipes and made up my own but my very best ones were the ones that I threw together quickly and couldn’t remember the ingredients or amounts. Finally, I decided to give up on biscuits and instead make a basic muffin to go with our soup. Rather than searching for the perfect recipe, I just decided to make my own and I do believe that I have been successful. These almond muffins are quick to put together, use only two flours, and are a good base for additions such as herbs, onions, and cheese. Not so much a light fluffy breakfast type muffin, they are more similar to cornbread in texture. They hold together beautifully, even for spreading not so soft butter, and are so tasty that the entire dozen disappeared between the four of us at dinner!

Basic Almond Muffins

2 c. Almond meal

1 c. Tapioca Flour

2 tsp. Baking Powder

1 tsp Sea Salt

¼ c. Honey

⅓ c. Milk

¼ c. Butter (melted)

3 Eggs

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease or line 12 muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Mix together butter, milk, honey, & eggs. Add liquid ingredients to the flour mix and blend thoroughly. Pour or spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean. (Don’t overbake!)

Makes 12 muffins

Dan has been teaching me a little bit of basic photo shop and today was how to add text so I got the idea from Beth to add a title and my blog to the photo. Handy for Pinterest:).

If you try them, let me know what you think and I would still welcome a good gluten free biscuit recipe so if you have one please send it my way!