Tags

, ,


For the most part I try to avoid using refined sugar in my cooking and so one of the sweeteners that I use is honey. I love that we can get honey from a beekeeper just a short distance from our house and he has great honey. Because I use such a significantly lower amount of it to sweeten my baking, I really don’t find that our grocery bill takes much of hit. I have told several people that I would give them some of my recipes and so I thought that I would share a couple of them now. Often I just play around with standard recipes using about one third of hone for the amount of sugar called for. Most times it works great but I have also had some pretty fantastic flops. I like using the tried and true recipes of others and these are ones that I have made many times. Enjoy and feel free to share any suggestions or even to let me know how it turned out for you!

Carrot Cake

½ – ¾  c. honey (a little more or less depending on desired sweetness)

¾ c. coconut oil (softened)

½ c. milk

3 eggs

1½  c. Kamut Flour (or whatever flour you like, it would be less flour using whole wheat)

½ c. Unbleached All-Purpose Flower

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp cloves (and/or nutmeg)

3 c. grated carrots

Instructions:

Mix honey and oil together well (make sure there aren’t lumps of coconut oil). Beat in eggs. Add milk and mix. Combine the dry ingredients plus carrots and mix in to the wet ingredients. Pour into lightly greased cake pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes.

I have yet to create a cream cheese icing that I am happy with that doesn’t use icing sugar so I either leave it plain or make an icing of cream cheese, lemon juice, a little butter and some icing sugar. Unhealthy but oh so tasty!

I often use less honey because I don’t like it to be super sweet and honey is pretty sweet.

Don’t use all Kamut Flour or it will be too dry. I tried other flours but kept coming back to this combo.

This great cookie recipe is from my friend Jenny. They have a soft, chewy texture. Yummy!

Low Fat Oatmeal Cookies

2 tbs. oil

1/4 c. apple sauce

1/2 c. honey

1 egg

1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2  tsp. Cinnamon

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp.  Baking Powder

1 and 1/2 c. old fashioned oats

1 c. flour (1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat (or kamut or quinoa))

( I add 1/2 c. flax seeds and 1/2 cup raisins, semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped nuts depending on the crowd or my mood)

Instructions

1. Preheat Oven 375 degrees

2. Mix together the oil, applesauce, honey, egg, vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Beat well

3. Add the soda, powder, oats, flax seed, (and raisins, chips or nuts); mix well, then gently stir in flour.

4. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto a lightly greased baking sheet

5. Bake 7 minutes or until firm when lightly tapped with finger.

